WEEK 4 NFL FIX

IMG_2931

Wow what a week.  ONLY 4 favourites covered in week 3.  The Cowboys, Chiefs, Titans and Falcons….BARELY.  I did say at the end of last week’s picks

“THERE ARE WAY TOO MANY ROAD FAVOURITES THIS WEEK, SO BE VERY VERY CAREFUL WHEN GAMBLING ON SUNDAY!!!!!”

And boy did the home dogs come through, 7 of the 10 home dogs not only covered, but they WON OUTRIGHT.  With all the craziness that happened I somehow managed a 10-6 record and sit 21-11 over the last two weeks.  Imagine if I didn’t blow week one….but hey….let’s just stick to the positives and keep the good times rolling right?!?!?!

HOME TEAM IN CAPS

PACKERS – 7 over Bears

As always you can find my Thursday night football picks on my Instagram page before kickoff (https://www.instagram.com/p/BZmpRHgn5mk/?taken-by=sheldonalexander) but I honestly had no choice other than to go with Aaron Rodgers and the Packers.  I would rather lose, than find myself rooting for Mike Glennon on a final drive for a back door cover….CAN’T DO IT….WON’T DO IT….

Saints -3 over DOLPHINS (IN LONDON)

How on earth did the Dolphins lose to the Jets?!?!?!  I was so close to taking Miami in my survivor pool, but instead I sweated out an OT win by the Packers.  But now I have no idea what to make of the Dolphins…kind of like I never knew what to make of Jay Cutler’s entire career.  But I do know the Saints, but more importantly Drew Brees is still that dude….despite his thoughts on the anthem protest.

Bills +8.5 over FALCONS

The Falcons might be the luckiest 3-0 team in the history of the NFL.  The Bears were the Bears and couldn’t score from the 5 yard line with the game on the line in week one. Then on Sunday the Lions missed the game winning TD by INCHES.  Last week I had faith in the Bills….and I’m taking the points yet again.  Let’s go #BillsMafia

Panthers +9 over PATRIOTS

Tom Brady did Tom Brady things to save the Patriots from losing to DeShaun Watson and the Texans.  If we learned anything, it’s that Patriots lines are super inflated.  If this was a TD, I’d be in on the Pats.  But at 9 points, I can talk myself into “maybe this is the week that Cam finally shows up”.

Bengals – 3 over BROWNS

Someone has to win right?!?!?!  I’m on the Bengals because they almost beat the Packers, whereas the Browns….are still the Browns.  Speaking of Cleveland, I’d like to take this time to remind all of those people who said the Jays would be ok letting Edwin go because Kendrys Morales would basically put up the same numbers at a much cheaper price…..

MORALES:                28 HR, 85 RBI, .251 AVG, .309 OBP, .448 SLG, -0.2 WAR

ENCARNACION:      38 HR, 104 RB1, .261 AVG, .381 OBP, .510 SLG, 2.8 WAR

Just a reminder, you should always pay the extra money for the real Jordans and never….EVER settle for the bootleg version.

VIKINGS -2 over Lions

I have to be honest, I didn’t believe in Matt Stafford and the Lions heading into this season.  But so far they’ve proven to always be in the mix late.  BUT….even with Case Keenum at the helm, the Vikings put on a show and might have the best WR duo in the league in Stefon Diggs and Adam Thielen.

Jaguars -3 over JETS

The Jets won, but their winning streak will be short lived.  I still don’t think Jacksonville is good, but they’re for sure better than the Jets.  The Jags D should EAT FOOD.

Rams +6 over COWBOYS

The Rams offense looked LEGIT (although it was against the Niners) and Aaron Donald is a BEAST on D.  Meanwhile the Cowboys don’t look right, especially Zeke.  I like the Rams to keep this game close.  But I’d also like to give a shout out to that hustler Jerry Jones.  We all know he wanted nothing to do with his team kneeling during the anthem, but Trump forced his hand and he had to at least try to compromise with his players.  So kneeling “before” the anthem was the greatest hustle ever.  But the real slime ball move was Jerry making sure a cameraman was in position to catch him kneeling.  Now that’s an OG hustle….

 

Steelers -3 over RAVENS

Steelers bounce back, I think the “to kneel” or “not to kneel” took a toll on the Steelers.  Meanwhile the maybe the same can be said about the Ravens….but Ray Lewis’ “prayers” won’t allow me to take Baltimore.  Speaking of Ray Ray, if you haven’t heard about him getting “Donkey of the Day” earlier this week then please take a second to listen.  And if you don’t know what “Donkey of the Day” is…then I’m not sure we can be friends anymore.

Also, at the time of this post that “Donkey of the Day” segment is over 48 hours old and people are still flooding Ray Lewis’ mentions with poop emojis. Another reminder “The internet is undefeated”

TEXANS +1.5 over Titans

I spent Sunday at the Apple Store at Fairview mall getting my laptop fixed and so while I was waiting the 2 hours to see someone at the Genius Bar, I posted up at a bar and watched the Texans/Patriots game.  As mentioned earlier, DeShaun Watson is legit.  I always find it funny how the NFL draft works.  We watched Watson do his thing at the pinnacle of College football for two straight years and then he falls in the draft for whatever reason.  Then you see something like this and wonder how other teams that need a QB could have passed on such a quality person.

This story gets even more interesting when you realize that an 11 year old Watson and his family were given a house by ex NFL’er Warrick Dunn back in 2006.  It was part of Dunn’s Charity “Homes for the Holidays” which helped single parent families acquire their first homes.

Just a reminder for all you “Stick to Sports” people that you can’t have it both ways.

BUCS -3 over Giants

Despite having no idea how they lost to Case Keenum last week, I’m rolling with the Bucs because the Giants appear to be completely lost.  Ben McAdoo has to be in trouble if they go 0-4 right?  Odell finally woke up from his slumber only to do this after catching his first TD of the season

Slow clap for this one. The New York headline writers are the best.

A post shared by Sheldon Alexander (@sheldonalexander) on

Eagles +1 over CHARGERS

Does it even matter that the Chargers are at home?   There might even be more Philly fans at the game.  Either way, shout out to their kicker Jake Elliott and his 61 yard game winning FG and to Carson Wentz for putting up his game cheque

Niners +7 over CARDINALS

Taking the points, because why are the Cardinals favoured by a touchdown against anyone???? But especially the Niners who haven’t played since last Thursday, while the Cards played on Monday night.

Raiders +3 over BRONCOS

The Raiders let me down last week.  They did not show up at all in Washington, but I still have faith they will bounce back and at least cover a FG

SEAHAWKS -13 over Colts

I try and take the points whenever we’re dealing with double digit spreads, but I just can’t do it here.  Seattle hasn’t looked good yet for a full game this season.  So this should be the week.  The Colts should just pack it in.  Shout out to Doug Baldwin and Michael Bennett on CNN the other night.

CHIEFS -7 over Redskins

I’m so in on the Chiefs.  At some point this season my pal Alex Smith will let me down, but for now I’M ALL IN on Kareem Hunt and Tyreek Hill.  Don’t mess this up Andy….

#HappyShmoneyDancing my friends

@ShelAlexander

This week 1-0

Last week 10-6

This Season 26-22

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

