HBO’S THE NEWSROOM: SEASON 3 TRAILER

I know that this show gets chirped on a regular basis, but I can’t lie.  I absolutely love this series.  Jeff Daniels as Will McAvoy is so good.  Honestly that alone should be reason to watch.  If you work in the media or are in school studying to someday work in a newsroom, then you also should be watching this show.  Yes, I’ll admit that the love triangles are a bit much.  But I also understand why they exist and therefore that aspect doesn’t bother me that much.  Think about it.  If the entire show was all about how the media covers (but mostly butchers) the biggest news stories in the world, then this would be a pretty depressing show.  So the comic relief/love stories are there to lighten the mood every once in a while and I’m ok with that.

At the end of the day though, I just love great writing and say whatever you want, but Aaron Sorkin is a great, GREAT writer.  I know that some think that the dialogue on this show is a little thick at times.  But actually I appreciate that.  In an era when most things on television are dumbed down to it’s lowest common denominator, Sorkin is here writing smart characters that verbally spar at a mile a minute.  If you’re not paying attention or if you’re watching the show while surfing your instagram feed, then you’re bound to miss something for sure.  I consider myself to be somewhat of a smart person and I would like to think that I’m paying attention when I watch The Newsroom.  Yet, when I watch episodes for the second time around (as I often do) there’s always a joke or something that I missed during my first viewing.  I compare it almost to listening to a new rap album for the first time (think old Jay Z or Nas and not Lil Wayne or Bobby Shmurda) and you don’t really catch all of dope references on the first listen.  So you listen to it again and again and it seems like you pick up something different, a new line, a double entendre or a little nugget that you missed during your previous listening sessions.   Well that’s how I feel about The Newsroom.  I find that I enjoy re-watching episodes because every word seems so well thought-out and that there might be something new that I pick up during my second helping of “Sorkin Being Sorkin”.

Full disclosure, I work in the media.  So obviously theres a different kind of appreciation for how they depict the inner workings of a real newsroom.  I love seeing their pre show meetings, the conversations in the control room or their references to how long things take to render.  I’m a tv loser, I’m sorry, but these are just the facts.  I’ve been known to even throw out a “What Would Will McAvoy Do” in normal conversation.  I just can’t help it, that’s my dude plus I’m a sucker for any scene involving Charlie Skinner or Sloan Sabbith. (Complete side note, but doesn’t Neal Sampat look like Nabil Karim on TSN? Seriously though, google that).

So when you add it all up, I can’t wait for this season to start.  Plus, deep down even those of you that claim to “hate watch” this show, can all admit that you missed Will McAvoy and company too….right?  “Don’t you dare lie to me Big Mike…”

As always, just my thoughts.  Right or wrong, just how I’m feeling at the time.

#OnBlast

@ShelAlexander

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

