SOMEWHERE IN ‘MERICA: LOCAL DALLAS TALK SHOW HAS AWKWARD CONVERSATION ABOUT MICHAEL SAM

You can pick things up around the 2:00 mark where one of the hosts expresses her shock over players getting fined for making insensitive twitter comments after Michael Sam kissed his boyfriend on EPSN, saying quote “What happened to America…” – #Merica

At around the 2:50 mark, one of the women shifts the conversation towards Donald Sterling and of course things get even more weird, before somehow having the conversation then move over to Tim Tebow being made fun for praying. I honestly thought we were done with this Tebow guy, but anyways. It’s not too long before the conversation gets back to Sterling before one of the hosts storms off the set in anger but not before dropping these gems:

“When parents do not have a choice about whether or not they want their children to see this, it is wrong…He has every right to do what he wants, I just don’t want it in my face.”

“Here’s the thing, ESPN would not have aired any of it had he been kissing his wife…”

Clearly “Miss Thang” has never heard of my dude Jan Vesely whose greatest moment in the NBA occurred at the draft and ironically enough this video was aired live and then over and over and over again on ESPN.

But all kidding aside, this is just another one of these instances where I take the Chris Rock approach: Racism (and bigotry) doesn’t surprise me anymore, but people who are shocked by racism, that surprises me. I’d never heard of this Dallas talk show before 20 minutes ago. These women aren’t as famous as the women on The View and their definitely not as good as the women on The Social here in Canada. But the reality is that their conversation is a real one and a microcosm of discussions being had this week in workplaces and at dinner tables all over North America. And that should be the point, engaging in conversation. To me, the hope should be that people become more understanding through new experiences and through hearing different point of views and thus in the end learning to become more tolerant when it comes to different lifestyles.

My point in posting this video isn’t to make fun of the two women for their beliefs, but more so I want to show that these people exist and that instead of always patting ourselves on the back for seemingly being more progressive than others.  We should be more open to these types of conversations as an opportunity to try and enlighten each other. I’m a firm believer that you can learn something from everyone that you meet no matter how ignorant you think they might be.

I’m a black male who, right or wrong feels as if I’m judged based on the colour of my skin on a daily basis. So for me or for anyone else from another ethnic or gender group that has been discriminated against at some point in their life; how can you then turn around and have an issue with Michael Sam and his boyfriend. To be honest my first thought after “the kiss” was how much backlash would there be if Michael Sam kissed his white girlfriend after being drafted? To be honest I’m not sure and I’m almost afraid to find out. But I do know that if and when that twitter backlash happens I’ll be open to having that awkward conversation as well.

As always, just my thoughts. Right or wrong, just how I’m feeling at the time.

@ShelAlexander
#OnBlast

Leave a Reply

